Yachting News » Fleet » Countdown to ISAF Rolex Sailor of the Year Awards

Countdown to ISAF Rolex Sailor of the Year Awards

isaf logo

With one day to go, there is much anticipation about the ISAF Rolex Sailor of the Year Awards recognising the achievements of the world's best sailors over the course of the last year.

Ranging from the most challenging round the world races and record breaking attempts, to highly competitive Olympic class racing, the ISAF Rolex Sailor of the Year Awards acknowledge unparalleled commitment, perseverance and accomplishment.

Since their inception in 1994, the trophy has proudly accumulated the names of the most revered athletes in the sport of sailing across a full spectrum of disciplines.  This year is no exception and the results will only be revealed at the exclusive ceremony, a gathering of the key players within the world of sailing.

The ISAF Member National Authorities (MNAs), the national governing bodies for sailing, have begun casting their votes to determine which male and female nominees are most deserving of these prestigious awards.  The final vote will take place on the night of the awards (Tuesday, 10 November 2015) at the Hotel Kempinski in Sanya, China.

rolex awards2

The 2015 nominees for the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards are as follows:

Peter Burling & Blair Tuke (NZL)
Loick Peyron (FRA)
Giles Scott (GBR)
Ian Walker (GBR)
Ian Williams (GBR)

Sarah Ayton (GBR)
Sam Davies (GBR)
Elena Kalinina (RUS)
Lotte Meldgaard Pedersen (DEN)
Charline Picon (FRA)

Rolex has partnered the International Sailing Federation (ISAF) since 2001. Comprised of over 140 member National Authorities and representing 100 classes of sailing boats ranging from dinghies up to 60-foot yachts, ISAF is responsible for the sport’s development and the decisions and rules which govern it.

The ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards mark the annual manifestation of this enduring relationship. The awards are the highest honour a yachtsman and a yachtswoman can achieve. In addition to the magnificent ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year trophy, each winner is presented with an engraved Rolex watch.

Post your comment

You cannot post comments until you have logged in.

Login to post a comment


No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments



Search articles with keywords