Yachting News » Fleet » Winners of the Antigua Classic Yacht Regatta

Winners of the Antigua Classic Yacht Regatta

Nelson’s Dockyard was the quintessential venue for the 30th celebration of the Antigua Classic Yacht Regatta sponsored by Panerai. For the final evening of a jam-packed week, the historic grounds blossomed with lights, tents, and a stage filled with glittering trophies.

The evening began with the beating drums of the Royal Antigua and Barbuda Police Band,with captains, crew and spectators gathered before the stage, anxiously awaiting the race results and special awards for outstanding yachts and sailors.

Nelons Dokyard

The Governor General of Antigua and Barbuda, the Honourable Dr. Rodney Williams, acknowledged the significance of holding the ACYR in the recently designated UNESCO World Heritage Site, saying,

“We are honoured that almost 50 classic yachts have come to Antigua from all corners of the world, mostly under sail,” he said. “I understand one of you quoted “wooden boat enthusiasts or gluttons for punishment? Is there any difference?”

This year’s presenter was Tommy Paterson, assisted by a Mount Gay rum and ginger ale. Praise and appreciation were given to Shannon Falcone’s committee boat and to Archie Bailey, Winston and Janeild for their excellent work in setting the marks each day. One by one, sailors took the stage as winners were announced.

79’ Fife yawl Mariella won the Mount Gay Rum Trophy and coveted Panerai watch 

After an extensive refit in Italy, the Antigua flagged 79’ Fife yawl Mariella, returned to Antigua to win the Mount Gay Rum Trophy, winner of the most competitive class. Topping that outstanding accomplishment, she also won the coveted Panerai watch, awarded to the boat with the lowest total corrected time from Traditional,Vintage or Classic Class. Carlo Falcone and his army of supportive crew took the stage for a well-deserved photo op and an explosion of cheer from the crowd.


Highlights from the evening included the presentation of the Kenny Coombs Memorial Trophy to the 42’ Carriacou Sloop Genesis; the Anne Wallis-White Trophy for Smallest boat awarded to the 30’ Alden Cutter, Calypso; and winner of the Seahorse Studio Trophy for Spirit of the Regatta was Faiaoahe, a 66’ Spirit of Tradition sloop. 

Most teams sported crew shirts, some donned evening attire while the crew of the 52’ Skagen gaff ketch Samsara pirated the stage with swords held high, winning the prize for Best Dressed Crew. The men and women of the 77’ Fife yawl Latifa regaled the audience in floral pareos.

Cannons shot off, ship horns blasted and the sky filled with fireworks. Music erupted from the lively band The Strays and the party took off in style. 



Flawless weather for the final race

unnamed 22
Spirit of Bermuda’s spinnaker was the most notable 

Damatic close calls  



Post your comment

You cannot post comments until you have logged in.

Login to post a comment


No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments



Search articles with keywords