Yachting News » Business » Nominations Now Accepted for 2016 Refit Excellence Awards

Nominations Now Accepted for 2016 Refit Excellence Awards

Screen Shot 2015 09 17 at 11.03.55

International yacht refit professionals will be recognized for their accomplishments through the first annual Refit Excellence Awards presented January 28, 2016, at Refit International Exhibition & Conference.

Nominations are currently being accepted for excellence in the yacht refit process online at www.refitshow.com. The awards will be judged by an independent panel based on not only the finished yacht, but on the teamwork, problem-solving and efficiency of everyone involved in the refit, including the boatyard, captain, owner, designer, surveyor, and management.

The Refit Excellence Awards are divided into five categories: Best Sailing Yacht Refit Between 60 and 100 Feet, Best Sailing Yacht Refit Over 100 Feet, Best Power Yacht Refit Between 60 and 100 Feet, Best Power Yacht Refit Over 100 Feet, and Best Accomplishment in Refit Excellence. While criteria for each award will include both quality and process work of the refit, the final award will be judged on overall satisfaction and contribution of the key professionals working on the project. The awards will be presented during a special ceremony Thursday, January 28, 2016, at 6pm at the Broward County Convention Center.

"The Refit Excellence Awards are opportunities to honor the professionals who make today's complex refits happen - instead of honoring just the boat itself," said Jim Miller, show manager of Refit International Exhibition & Conference and publisher of

Professional BoatBuilder magazine. "Refit professionals rarely get to enjoy the kind of spotlight that their work does, but their vision and craftsmanship are ultimately what makes a vessel spectacular."

Any yacht refit professional may nominate a yacht for a Refit Excellence Award. A nomination form is online at www.refitshow.com. There is no entry fee, nor limit to the number of entries. Nominations will be accepted until December 4, 2015. Finalists will be announced in January 2016. Tickets to the awards ceremony will be available this fall as part of the registration for Refit International Exhibition & Conference. More information is available online at www.refitshow.com


Post your comment

You cannot post comments until you have logged in.

Login to post a comment


No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments



Search articles with keywords