Yachting News » Business » ISS Artisan Award 2019 Open for Nominations

ISS Artisan Award 2019 Open for Nominations

ISS artisan award Gavin Rookledge 140

Launched at the ISS Amsterdam Member's Event and sponsored by Quantum Marine Stabilizers, the Award for Artisans is the brainchild of a previous ISS Business Person of the Year, John Allen.

As the President of Quantum Marine Stabilizers, John is particularly aware of the exceptional work done by the thousands of skilled individuals working for and within superyacht shipyards to deliver these very special vessels that are considered masterpieces. Alongside recognising the fabulous designs, innovations and leadership that are so remarkable - we should also recognise the artistry, skill and dedication of the hands-on individuals working to physically create these extraordinary yachts.

This award joins the other ISS Awards of Distinction and the Leadership Award, expanding the recognition of Excellence that is part of the mission of ISS. The winner will be presented an award at the annual Design & Leadership Awards Gala in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

ISS Artisan Award Gavin Rookledge

Superyacht industry members around the world are invited to nominate one candidate. This person can be from their own staff or from one of their prime contractors. Nominating shipyards should provide information (text and pictures) that gives a good insight into the special attributes of the nominee, their skill, and how they embody the true spirit of artisanship.

Four distinct areas have been defined to allow judging to assess the relative strengths of nominees:

  • Artistry - The degree to which the nominee has achieved mastery of their respective art. Their ability to interpret and execute the designer’s intent beyond design details.

  • Mentorship/Sharing - With skills in continual demand and development of the next generation recognised by many as having prime importance, the individual will be judged on how well they pass on their knowledge and share their experience with others.

  • Value - As an artisan, how the nominee has delivered outstanding value and embodied the highest quality ideals while delivering on-time and on-budget. Judges also want to see accuracy in construction and delivery from complex designs.

  • Innovation - Complacency is not present in top artisans who are always looking to develop new techniques and deliver even greater performance; how the nominee advances their skills and craft and how they manage to innovate construction techniques.

Submit your nomination now

The Artisan Award Winner 2018

The inaugural 2018 Artisan Award went to Gavin Rookledge of Rook's Books.

Described as 'London's leather alchemist', Gavin produces pieces which have a tactile, physical presence, whilst simultaneously exuding a sense of otherworldly mystery. He works with a passion from the inspiration provided by his materials, principally leather of myriad different weights and textures, which he decorates with beaten metal, wood, fabric and other materials. The result is sculptural and highly tactile pieces that have unique character and beauty.


*Photo credit: Courtesy of ISS

Post your comment

You cannot post comments until you have logged in.

Login to post a comment


No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments



Search articles with keywords