Yachting News » Business » All The Winners Of The IMRF Awards 2019

All The Winners Of The IMRF Awards 2019


Exceptional search and rescue teams, outstanding individuals and innovative technology from around the world have been recognised in the annual IMRF Awards, which took place aboard the HQS Wellington on the second day of London International Shipping Week, Tuesday 10th September.

The daughter of Vladimir Maksimov, presenting the IMRF Award for lifetime achievement in her father's memory, described his life being dedicated to the service of others, a dedication shared by maritime SAR professionals around the world who together create a legacy that defines what it is to be human.

Theresa Crossley, International Maritime Rescue Federation (IMRF) CEO added: "Natalie Maksimov's heartfelt tribute to her father and this years' IMRF Award winners acknowledges the dedication shown by SAR professionals worldwide. I would like to congratulate all of the winners and finalists in this year's awards. They are an inspiration to us all and demonstrate the incredible skill and expertise of so many SAR professionals around the world, who every day show extraordinary skill and courage in their actions to save lives at sea in all kinds of conditions and weather."

IMRF Awards

All the search and rescue (SAR) winners and finalists were presented with their awards by Vice-Admiral Sir Tim Laurence KCVO CB ADC at a presentation ceremony, and the winners are as follows:

• The Award for Outstanding Individual Contribution to Maritime SAR Operations has been awarded to Captain HUANG Zhibin who led a complex helicopter rescue in a super typhoon, involving a cargo ship with nine crew stranded onboard.

• The Award for Outstanding Team Contribution to Maritime SAR Operations has been presented to Marine Rescue Port Macquarie in Australia for their successful multiagency rescue which took place when a 10m motor cruiser hit rocks at speed, resulting in severe injuries to all three passengers.

• The Innovation and Technology Award in the Field of Maritime SAR has been presented to Phillip Hanson and the Maritime Coastguard Agency for the agency's work using drones and other remotely controlled assets to improve future search and rescue operations.

• The Vladimir Maksimov Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Maritime SAR Sector has been awarded to Arthur Allen of the US Coast Guard for his work over the last 35 years advising the US Coast Guard on the impact of ocean currents and winds on the location of people, vessels or aircraft in distress. The results of his research are used for training around the world and has helped to save countless lives at sea.

• The inaugural IMRF's Women in SAR Award, which was launched this year in support of the IMO's Empowering Women in Maritime campaign, has been presented to Isobel Tugwell, a young crew member at the RNLI Shoreham Lifeboat Station in the UK.

The IMRF's People's Choice Award, which is the nomination securing the most votes from the public on Facebook and Sina Weibo was presented to Coastguard New Zealand, Surf Life Saving Kariotahi, New Zealand Police, Auckland Westpac Rescue Helicopter Trust, recognising their successful completion of a large, complex multi-agency search and rescue operation to save a man, woman and a child thrown into freezing water when their small boat flipped over.

IMRF Awards 5

A special recognition award was presented to David Jardine-Smith for his contribution to the development of international SAR. He is the IMRF's expert on mass rescue operations and has been the organisations special representative at the IMO. David joined the IMRF in 2010, following a career at sea and many years ashore working with the UK Coastguard, ultimately as the national organisation's head of search and rescue.

The judges of the IMRF Awards 2019 were: Michael Vlasto (Former IMRF Chair and Chair of the Awards Judging Panel); Pat Quealey (immediate past CEO, Royal Canadian Marine Search & Rescue); Nigel Clifford (General Manager Safety and Response, Maritime New Zealand); Jared Blows (Maritime Rescue Coordination Centre Chief, MRCC Cape Town, South Africa); Stein Solberg (formerly of JRCC Stavanger, Norway).

The judges for the Women in SAR Award were: Alison Horrocks (Chief Corporate Affairs & Company Secretary, Inmarsat), Frances Baskerville (Secretary General, Comité International Radio Maritime CIRM), Peter Broadhurst, (Vice President Yachting, Passenger & Safety, Inmarsat)

Congratulations to all the winners!


Post your comment

You cannot post comments until you have logged in.

Login to post a comment


No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments



Search articles with keywords